Learn about Norway

Facts about Norway

  • Norway, officially the Kingdom of Norway - a Scandinavian unitary constitutional monarchy
  • Population - 5.07 million
  • 4th largest country by area in Europe
  • Official languages: Norwegian Language, Nynorsk, Bokmål
  • Currency: Norwegian krone
  • Unemployment - 3.3%
  • Average monthly earnings - 39 600 NOK
  • Almost all Norwegian speak English very good

Norway and EU

Norway is not a member of EU. The Norwegians have twice rejected the chance to join it by referendum. The paradox is that, despite the fact, the country has implemented more EU directives than some of the member states of EU.

Administrative divisions

Norway is divided into 19 administrative regions that are called counties (Fylker in Norwegian). They are further divided into 433 municipalities (Kommuner in Norwegian). Only the county of Oslo is both a county and a municipality.

Beside this division, the country is divided into five main regions (Landsdel in Norwegian):

  • South Land (Sørlandet)
  • East Land (Østlandet)
  • West Land (Vestlandet)
  • West Land (Vestlandet)
  • Troendelag (Trøndelag)
  • North Norway (Nord-Norge)
This division is more customary (traditional) and reflects geographic and dialectal differences.

Norway map

Geographical facts

Some geographical facts that are not only interesting to hear, but also useful:

  • the highest mountain in Norway is Galdhøpiggen – around 2,469 m high
  • the longest River is Glomma - 623 km long.

Religion in Norway

83% of Norwegians are members of the Christian Evangelical Lutheran Church of Norway.

Norway is a very secular country, only 10 % of the population attend the church once in a month.